Pan o Palo


I’m Gonna Go Bill Cosby On Your Ass!
June 19, 2009, 6:07 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

This Sunday, as most know, is Father’s Day.  And as a lot of you know, I’m an expecting father.  Right now, my wife is in her 20th week of pregnancy and has a pronounced “baby bump”.  We found out last week that the fetus is likely a shetus.  Our hunches were correct.

My wife and I had a back and forth on whether or not we should celebrate Mother’s and Father’s Day.  I didn’t get anything for her, but she got something for me.

032

It’s a very sweet gift; and I love my wife for thinking of me when there’s no outward evidence of me being a Papa.  Though, admittedly, I’m still pretty weirded out by the whold thing.  I keep telling her that it won’t seem real until there’s some physical evidence.  Now that there is, I’m finding other things to shake my head about.

I’m now resigned to my new role.  I’ve been working on things like patience and self-control in order to make the transition from doofus to daddy as painless as possible (I know there’s only so much I can do).  I also recognize that there’s just gonna be so many things that I cannot prepare for…and that’s fine.  It’s just a weird purgatory (to indulge in hyperbole for a second) to be stuck in.

I guess the point of this all is: I’m ready to not be ready.  I’m ready to be stuck, to be overjoyed, to experience all of the manic swings that every parent before me has experienced.  Getting things like a shirt that our daughter will outgrow in mere weeks only makes me more excited for October 30th.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

awww

Comment by Echidne of the snakes

That is so cute!

Comment by Hecate Demetersdatter

Doofus is a very important Daddy skill, especially when you have a daughter.

Comment by bo




Leave a Reply

